Traditional recipes

Where Your Favorite Cocktails Come From

Where Your Favorite Cocktails Come From


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Traveling the world to enjoy cocktails where they each began

While almost all cocktails have attained a ubiquitousness that shrouds their origins in mysteries, as do the myriad derivatives being passed off as said cocktail — chocolate Martini, uh huh — the truth remains that all cocktails great and small had their origin somewhere. With summer in full swing, now is the time to plan a road trip tracking down the origins of five iconic drinks!

Yes, it may be odd to plan a road trip, especially one that requires flying and circuitous travel to restricted lands, in order to drink a drink that one could, well, drink anywhere, but that is not the point. You don't travel to baseball stadiums around the country because the games are better, though as a Mets fan I might in fact be the exception to that rule. No, you travel for the experiences travel affords you. For example a Sazerac in the heat of a New Orleans summer is something other than just another Sazerac. It is that Sazerac wrapped up in the ambiance of its birth, and it just might be the finest Sazerac one will ever experience even if it turns out that it's not actually the best Sazerac around!

Click here to find the origins of your favorite cocktails.

Greogory Dal Piaz, Snooth


The Tastiest, Most Refreshing Cocktails to Enjoy This Summer

I think we can all agree that we deserve a strong cocktail after what we’ve had to endure over the past year and some change. Thankfully, summer is nearly upon us, which means it’s time to bask in the sunshine with your favorite people and your favorite drinks. And although Moscow Mules and Mojitos are great—it’s time to level up your cocktail game. Here are some deliciously creative cocktails that are perfect for summertime sipping.

Rhubarb Martini

Martinis are a classic cocktail, there’s no doubt about that. But—they can feel a bit too “heavy” to drink when it’s hot outside. Add a crisp and refreshing twist to your chilled martini by incorporating homemade rhubarb syrup into the recipe—here’s how to make it:

  • 1.5 lbs pink rhubarb
  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 32 oz water
  • Chilled vodka of your choice (1.5 oz per drink)
  • Ice

Instructions:

Cut up the rhubarb into 1-2 inch sections and place in a large saucepan with water and sugar. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes until it becomes soft and pulpy. Strain the mixture through a colander or strainer, throw out the pulp, and refrigerate the rhubarb syrup (how easy was that?!).

To make the cocktail, fill a cocktail shaker with ice and add 3 oz of the syrup along with the chilled vodka. Strain into your favorite martini-sipping glass and enjoy!

Cucumber Collins

Cucumber pretty much belongs in everything we eat and drink in the summer. It’s tasty, it’s fresh, and it’s super versatile. This cucumber collins recipe is ideal for the warmer months because it’s light, it’s not too sweet, and it pairs perfectly with chicken or fish on the grill. Check out the recipe below.

  • 1-1.5 oz London Dry gin
  • ¾ oz elderflower liqueur
  • ¾ oz lemon juice
  • 3.5 oz sparkling water
  • 4 cucumber slices
  • Ice

Instructions:

Add the gin, liqueur, lemon juice, and two cucumber slices to a tall glass and give it a stir. Add the desired amount of ice, then pour over the sparkling water. Gently stir once more, then garnish your drink with the additional cucumber slices. Easy-peasy.

Honeysuckle Vodka Lemonade

A little tangy, a little sweet, and a lot of delicious. This Southern cocktail is sure to be a hit at your next summer BBQ or gathering—and it’s insanely easy to make. The simple recipe below only calls for four ingredients.

  • 2 oz honeysuckle vodka (brands include Cathead, King St., and Martine)
  • ¾ oz lemon juice
  • ½ oz simple syrup
  • Soda water

Instructions:

Pour all ingredients (except soda water) into a cocktail shaker and shake. Pour into a tumbler with ice and top it off with soda water. Voila!

Apple and Ginger Cocktail

The great thing about this mouth-watering cocktail is that it can be served cold or hot—so, feel free to carry this recipe into the cold winter months. Because seriously, it’s that good.

You’ll need (serves 10):

  • 3.5 cups (28 oz) apple juice
  • 3.5 cups (28 oz) ginger beer
  • 4 oz ginger wine (optional)
  • 3 limes (juiced)
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • Mint sprigs
  • Lime wedges and ice for garnish

Instructions:

In a large bowl, mix together the juice, ginger beer, lime juice, and optional ginger wine. In a separate smaller bowl, mix together the spices. When you’re ready to drink, pour over ice, add a pinch of spice along with a mint sprig, and garnish with a lime wedge. It tastes a little too good to be true.

Pineapple Cooler

If you can’t be whisked off to a tropical island somewhere, why not bring the island vibes to your backyard? There’s something about rum and pineapple that instantly transports you to the Caribbean, and this cocktail seriously hits the spot.

  • ⅓ cup (2.5 oz) rum
  • ¼ cup coconut milk
  • 4 cups chilled pineapple chunks (fresh or canned)
  • 1.5 cups ice
  • ¼ cup lime juice
  • Sprig of mint and wedge of lime for garnish

Instructions:

Combine all the ingredients (except garnish) into a high-speed blender and blend until smooth. If you prefer a thicker frozen cocktail, add more ice. For a sweeter cocktail, add simple syrup or pineapple juice (if you used canned). Garnish with mint and lime and you’re good to go.


Celebrating National Mocktail Week with recipes from the Simple Goodness Sisters

The Simple Goodness Sisters, Belinda and Venise, joined us today to share mocktail recipes using their line of garden-to-glass drink syrups to elevate any boring beverage to a sophisticated, next level drinking experience. Here’s more from them.

Alongside Dry January, this week serves as a reminder that we can skip the alcohol and still feel special, celebrated, satisfied. As many have been drinking their way through the quarantine this can be a reset to better habits in the new year.

What is Garden to Glass You Ask?

Rethink how you build your favorite cocktail by starting with where your ingredients are sourced. By harvesting goodness straight from the garden and keeping preservatives and chemicals out of all of the recipes, the Simple Goodness Sisters bring a Happier Hour to you. Simple Goodness Sisters introduces a line of specialty non-alcoholic cocktail syrups made to easily elevate your mocktails and cocktails right from home. Its Garden to Glass drink syrups use the best ingredients possible to make the tastiest and easiest drinks at home. Flavors include Huckleberry Spruce, Rhubarb Vanilla Bean, Berry Sage, Lemon Herb, Marionberry Mint, and Blueberry Lavender.

With their cocktail kits, make a Lemon Drop just BYOB. Or how about a holiday spritz? Level up your cocktail game with floral salt rimmers too. With these fabulous syrups, become a home botanical mixologist, and impress your family and friends by crafting fun delicious concoctions they’ll want to try themselves (hint: great gift idea!) Get creative with your syrup: drizzle over vanilla ice cream, pound cake, or even DIY popsicles!

About Simple Goodness Sisters:

The Simple Goodness Sisters are two sisters who left the corporate world to pursue their dreams of entrepreneurship. After receiving repeated requests for their secret cocktail recipes, the sisters decided to bottle their talents in a line of specialty cocktail syrups. The syrups feature herbs grown on the farm and flavor profiles that are distinctly Pacific Northwest. They use their farm roots to source hyper local ingredients from their farm friends and neighbors. As their businesses grow they hope to inspire others to grow and mix garden to glass cocktails in their own gardens and kitchens. Follow them on Instagram @simplegoodnesssisters.

Now open, the sisters are excited to announce The Simple Goodness Soda Shop.

The Soda Shop will be the booziest coffee shop you’ve ever been to, or the most family-friendly bar. The menu will feature ice cream, sundaes, shakes, Panini sandwiches with seasonal salads, homemade pickles, homemade pesto, spreads, and jams, hearty snacks, waffle sticks, and OF COURSE, #gardentoglass cocktails.


A “buck” contains liquor, ginger beer, and citrus. This one starts with a chopped muddled strawberry. Shake with an ounce of lemon juice and a half-ounce of simple syrup in a cocktail shaker. Add two ounces of bourbon, a couple of dashes of bitters, and ice. Shake again and strain into a glass filled with ice. Top with ginger beer and garnish with a strawberry.

Muddle two slices of cucumber in a shaker. Press a few chunks of watermelon to make about 1 ½ ounces of juice. Strain the juice into the shaker. Add 1 ½ ounces gin, ¾ ounce lime juice, ½ ounce simple syrup, and a pinch of kosher salt. Fill with ice and shake vigorously. Strain into a glass with ice. Top with 1 ½ ounce of soda water and garnish with another cucumber slice.


This Map Shows Where Your Favorite Foods Actually Come From

You would think that Thai chilies originated in Thailand, but you’d be wrong. Researchers at The Royal Society mapped out the origins of some of the world’s most important crops, and many of their findings are pretty surprising. Do you really know where your food comes from?

For a better look at the image below, check out this interactive map at the International Center for Tropical Agriculture. Just hover over the country you’re interested in and take a look at which crops it’s home to.

I was the most surprised to see that tomatoes, chilies, and potatoes, which I so commonly associate with Italy, Thailand, and Ireland, respectively, are originally from South America. I was also surprised to learn that asparagus, which grows wild near my home in Michigan, and beets, which are farmed and processed into sugar on the other side of the state, are not originally from the U.S. — they’re from Eurasia.

And to think that wheat — which is, obviously, an important ingredient for so many things these days — isn’t even native to North America is absolutely wild. Can you imagine what food in your country would be like without globalization? Don’t get me wrong, I like strawberries, blueberries, cranberries, raspberries, grapes, sunflowers, and pumpkins, but I sure am thankful to have access to so many wonderful ingredients from around the world!


Take your cooking up a notch with these chef-curated tips and meal ideas.

Learn More


5. Categorize your recipes

Now that you’ve chosen a method for storing your recipes, the next step is to brainstorm a structure for how you’ll be organizing your recipe collection. To do this, come up with a list of categories you can use to organize your recipes. Here are a few ideas for how you can categorize your recipes:

  • Meal type: breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, appetizers, sides, snacks, drinks
  • Diet: low carb, keto, vegetarian, Whole 30, paleo
  • Cuisine: Italian, Mexican, Thai, Chinese, Greek
  • Main ingredient: chicken, beef, pasta, fish
  • Cooking method: InstantPot, air fryer, slow cooker, casseroles, sheet pan, grill
  • Season or holidays: Thanksgiving, summer bbq, fall soups, cozy winter recipes
  • Time to prepare or difficulty: 30 minute meals, 10 ingredients or less, one pot meals

Mix and match these categories and choose the ones that fit your needs. What works for someone else, might not work for you. You can always refine these categories as you go!


Where your favorite holiday spices really come from

“The holidays” is not technically a scent, but we all know exactly what the phrase “smells like the holidays” means. Catching a whiff of five key spices — allspice, anise, cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg — evokes a warming feeling of comfort during the coldest months in the Northern Hemisphere.

A major reason these spices are nearly universally accepted as holiday staples is that many of them appear in the food and drinks we consume this time of year (and candles, but first and foremost food). The spices are key to the mulled wine and eggnog we drink, and the pumpkin and apple pies we eat from Thanksgiving through the new year. The smell conjures memories of holidays past even more than the sight of a roasted turkey or the itchy feel of an ugly Christmas sweater. Studies have found that smells are processed in the same part of the brain as emotion and memory, whereas sight, sound, and touch are not.

Humans encountered these spices long before they had an inkling about (relatively) modern holidays like Christmas. Cinnamon use in today’s India and Sri Lanka dates back some 7,000 years, writes David Trinklein, who works in the division of plant sciences at the University of Missouri. Lucrative trade of cinnamon, and later other spices, occurred between Asia, North Africa, and Europe via the Middle East from the time of the Ancient Egyptians. The Romans made Alexandria, Egypt, the center of trade with India, and Indian spices helped make Alexandria a major commercial center for the Roman Empire.

Merchants in Venice controlled the spice trade in the 10th century, creating vast fortunes. By the 1500s, European empires were looking to skip the middleman and get into the spice trade. Spices, in large part the ones we now associate with the holidays, were a major reason for expeditions by Christopher Columbus, Vasco da Gama, Ferdinand Magellan, and others.

The Age of Exploration turned into the age of colonization in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. The Netherlands colonized the Spice Islands, now known as Indonesia, through the Dutch East India Company, the United Kingdom colonized parts of modern India with the British East India Company, and the French colonized parts of Southeast Asia and traded through the French East India Company.

The colonies devastated local communities as Europeans fought amongst themselves and used forced labor and violence to meet the demand for spices in their home countries. Over the next couple hundred years, prices went down and what we now consider holiday spices became crucial to traditional Western recipes — including for formally bland recipes for winter foods made with whatever lasted from the final harvest of the year.

These spices are just as valued, though not necessarily as lucrative, in the modern global economy, and countries that were once European spice-producing colonies are now some of the biggest spice exporters. According to the Observatory of Economic Complexity, China, India, Thailand, and Indonesia are among the top exporters of these spices, though a large share of exports is still run through former colonial powers like the Netherlands and Spain (though, it should be noted, this isn’t exclusive to holiday spices). The largest spice importer in the world is now the United States, which buys up 11 percent of the $2.4 billion spice trade.

While this general history of the spice trade gives the bigger picture of this collection of holiday spices, each of the five major holiday spices is special in and of itself.


Piña Colada

WHERE: Barrachina Restaurant (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

Long before the Rupert Holmes tune about piña coladas and getting caught in the rain, the cocktails were being mixed throughout San Juan, Puerto Rico. The frozen drink is made of rum, coconut cream, and pineapple juice, garnished with a pineapple wedge or a maraschino cherry. It’s no wonder it’s the official cocktail of the islands.

Two locations claim the drink as their own. The first is the Barrachina Restaurant, which has a plaque outside marking it as the home of the piña colada. Spanish bartender Don Ramon Portas Mingot was said to have created the drink there in 1963. But in 1954, the Caribe Hilton Hotel said that bartender Ramón “Monchito” Marrero came up with the concoction. Whichever version you believe, we recommend trying one at each place to compare.

Recommended Fodor&rsquos Video


Barbecue sauce

Without barbecue sauce, there would be no passionate regional barbecue debates. Cuts of pig or cow would just be wood-fired meats without the zesty, ever-adaptable, wide-spanning range of barbecue sauces.

According to the anthropologist Zora Neale Hurston, barbecue comes from Arawak Native Americans in Florida. It was called babacots, which the Spanish interpreted as barbacoa and the English as barbecue. Hurston writes that slaves were the ones who added a sour-spicy sauce to slow-cooked meats, and it spread from state to state, adapting to what was regionally available and creating the large category of barbecue sauce we know today.

The Southern Foodways Alliance links barbecue sauce to the food traditions of slaves of African descent and the British. The British used butter and/or vinegar to keep their slow-cooked meat from drying out. Peppers and spices came from slaves from the Caribbean. Today, barbecue sauce is a regional ingredient that’s inspired plenty of debates in the South. You’ll get something different depending on whether you get your barbecue from Alabama, North Carolina, Missouri, Texas, or Tennessee. Unlike every other condiment that the US uses and abuses, barbecue sauce is truly an American one.


Watch the video: 5 ΣΟΚΑΡΙΣΤΙΚΑ facts για τα αγαπημένα σας σνακ. (July 2022).


Comments:

  1. Lambert

    In my opinion you are not right. I am assured. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.

  2. Yspaddaden

    An important and timely response

  3. Dobi

    Clearly, the excellent answer

  4. Toramar

    Exactly the messages



Write a message

Traditionelle Rezepte

Woher deine Lieblingscocktails kommen

Woher deine Lieblingscocktails kommen

Um die Welt reisen, um Cocktails dort zu genießen, wo sie alle begannen

Während fast alle Cocktails eine Allgegenwärtigkeit erreicht haben, die ihren Ursprung in Mysterien hüllt, ebenso wie die unzähligen Derivate, die als besagter Cocktail ausgegeben werden – Schokoladen-Martini, äh huh – bleibt die Wahrheit, dass alle großen und kleinen Cocktails ihren Ursprung irgendwo hatten. Da der Sommer in vollem Gange ist, ist es jetzt an der Zeit, einen Roadtrip auf der Suche nach den Ursprüngen von fünf ikonischen Getränken zu planen!

Ja, es mag seltsam sein, einen Roadtrip zu planen, insbesondere einen, der Fliegen und Umwege in begrenzte Länder erfordert, um ein Getränk zu trinken, das man, nun ja, überall trinken könnte, aber das ist nicht der Punkt. Sie reisen nicht in Baseballstadien im ganzen Land, weil die Spiele besser sind, obwohl ich als Mets-Fan tatsächlich die Ausnahme von dieser Regel sein könnte. Nein, Sie reisen für die Erlebnisse, die Ihnen das Reisen bietet. Zum Beispiel ist ein Sazerac in der Hitze eines New Orleans-Sommers etwas anderes als nur ein weiterer Sazerac. Es ist, dass Sazerac in das Ambiente seiner Geburt eingehüllt ist, und es könnte das beste Sazerac sein, das man jemals erleben wird, auch wenn sich herausstellt, dass es nicht wirklich das beste Sazerac ist!

Klicken Sie hier, um die Herkunft Ihrer Lieblingscocktails zu erfahren.

Greogory Dal Piaz, Snooth


Die leckersten und erfrischendsten Cocktails für diesen Sommer

Ich denke, wir sind uns alle einig, dass wir nach dem, was wir im letzten Jahr und einigen Veränderungen durchmachen mussten, einen starken Cocktail verdienen. Zum Glück steht der Sommer vor der Tür, was bedeutet, dass es Zeit ist, sich mit Ihren Lieblingsleuten und Ihren Lieblingsgetränken in der Sonne zu sonnen. Und obwohl Moscow Mules und Mojitos großartig sind, ist es an der Zeit, Ihr Cocktailspiel zu verbessern. Hier sind einige köstliche kreative Cocktails, die sich perfekt für einen sommerlichen Schluck eignen.

Rhabarber Martini

Martinis sind ein klassischer Cocktail, daran besteht kein Zweifel. Aber – sie können sich etwas zu „schwer“ zum Trinken anfühlen, wenn es draußen heiß ist. Verleihen Sie Ihrem gekühlten Martini eine knusprige und erfrischende Note, indem Sie hausgemachten Rhabarbersirup in das Rezept einarbeiten – so wird es gemacht:

  • 1,5 kg rosa Rhabarber
  • 1,5 Tassen Kristallzucker
  • 32 Unzen Wasser
  • Gekühlter Wodka Ihrer Wahl (1,5 oz pro Getränk)
  • Eis

Anweisungen:

Den Rhabarber in 1-2 cm große Stücke schneiden und mit Wasser und Zucker in einen großen Topf geben. Zugedeckt 20 Minuten köcheln lassen, bis es weich und breiig wird. Die Mischung durch ein Sieb oder Sieb abseihen, das Fruchtfleisch wegwerfen und den Rhabarbersirup in den Kühlschrank stellen (wie einfach war das?!).

Um den Cocktail zuzubereiten, füllen Sie einen Cocktailshaker mit Eis und fügen Sie 3 oz Sirup zusammen mit dem gekühlten Wodka hinzu. In Ihr Lieblings-Martini-Schluckglas abseihen und genießen!

Gurke Collins

Gurken gehören im Sommer zu allem, was wir essen und trinken. Es ist lecker, es ist frisch und es ist super vielseitig. Dieses Gurken-Collins-Rezept ist ideal für die wärmeren Monate, denn es ist leicht, nicht zu süß und passt perfekt zu Hühnchen oder Fisch vom Grill. Schauen Sie sich das Rezept unten an.

  • 1-1,5 oz London Dry Gin
  • ¾ Unzen Holunderblütenlikör
  • ¾ Unzen Zitronensaft
  • 3,5 Unzen Sprudelwasser
  • 4 Gurkenscheiben
  • Eis

Anweisungen:

Gin, Likör, Zitronensaft und zwei Gurkenscheiben in ein hohes Glas geben und umrühren. Fügen Sie die gewünschte Menge Eis hinzu und gießen Sie dann das Sprudelwasser darüber. Nochmals vorsichtig umrühren, dann den Drink mit den zusätzlichen Gurkenscheiben garnieren. Kinderleicht.

Honeysuckle Wodka Limonade

Ein bisschen würzig, ein bisschen süß und viel lecker. Dieser Südstaaten-Cocktail wird sicher ein Hit bei Ihrem nächsten Sommer-BBQ oder -Treffen – und er ist wahnsinnig einfach zuzubereiten. Das einfache Rezept unten erfordert nur vier Zutaten.

  • 2 oz Honeysuckle Wodka (Marken sind Cathead, King St. und Martine)
  • ¾ Unzen Zitronensaft
  • ½ oz einfacher Sirup
  • Mineralwasser

Anweisungen:

Alle Zutaten (außer Sodawasser) in einen Cocktailshaker geben und schütteln. In einen Tumbler mit Eis gießen und mit Sodawasser auffüllen. Voila!

Apfel-Ingwer-Cocktail

Das Tolle an diesem köstlichen Cocktail ist, dass er kalt oder heiß serviert werden kann – tragen Sie dieses Rezept also gerne in die kalten Wintermonate. Denn im Ernst, es ist so gut.

Sie benötigen (dient 10):

  • 3,5 Tassen (28 oz) Apfelsaft
  • 3,5 Tassen (28 oz) Ingwerbier
  • 4 Unzen Ingwerwein (optional)
  • 3 Limetten (entsaftet)
  • ½ Teelöffel Zimt
  • ½ Teelöffel Muskatnuss
  • Minzezweige
  • Limettenspalten und Eis zum Garnieren

Anweisungen:

In einer großen Schüssel Saft, Ingwerbier, Limettensaft und optional Ingwerwein vermischen. In einer separaten kleineren Schüssel die Gewürze vermischen. Wenn Sie zum Trinken bereit sind, gießen Sie es über Eis, fügen Sie eine Prise Gewürz zusammen mit einem Minzzweig hinzu und garnieren Sie mit einer Limettenspalte. Es schmeckt ein wenig zu gut, um wahr zu sein.

Ananas-Kühler

Wenn Sie nicht irgendwo auf eine tropische Insel entführt werden können, warum bringen Sie die Inselvibes nicht in Ihren Garten? Rum und Ananas haben etwas an sich, das Sie sofort in die Karibik entführt, und dieser Cocktail ist wirklich genau das Richtige.

  • ⅓ Tasse (2,5 oz) Rum
  • ¼ Tasse Kokosmilch
  • 4 Tassen gekühlte Ananasstücke (frisch oder aus der Dose)
  • 1,5 Tassen Eis
  • ¼ Tasse Limettensaft
  • Minzezweig und Limettenspalte zum Garnieren

Anweisungen:

Alle Zutaten (außer Garnitur) in einen Hochgeschwindigkeitsmixer geben und glatt pürieren. Wenn Sie einen dickeren gefrorenen Cocktail bevorzugen, fügen Sie mehr Eis hinzu. Für einen süßeren Cocktail fügen Sie einfachen Sirup oder Ananassaft hinzu (wenn Sie Dosen verwendet haben). Mit Minze und Limette garnieren und fertig.


Feiern Sie die National Mocktail Week mit Rezepten der Simple Goodness Sisters

Die Simple Goodness Sisters, Belinda und Venise, haben sich uns heute angeschlossen, um Mocktail-Rezepte mit ihrer Linie von Garden-to-Glass-Getränkesirupen zu teilen, um jedes langweilige Getränk zu einem raffinierten Trinkerlebnis der nächsten Stufe zu machen. Hier ist mehr von ihnen.

Neben Dry January dient diese Woche als Erinnerung daran, dass wir den Alkohol weglassen können und uns trotzdem besonders, gefeiert und zufrieden fühlen. Da sich viele durch die Quarantäne getrunken haben, kann dies im neuen Jahr ein Zurücksetzen auf bessere Gewohnheiten sein.

Was ist Garden to Glass Sie fragen?

Überdenken Sie, wie Sie Ihren Lieblingscocktail zusammenstellen, indem Sie mit der Herkunft Ihrer Zutaten beginnen. Indem sie das Gute direkt aus dem Garten ernten und Konservierungsstoffe und Chemikalien aus allen Rezepten fernhalten, bringen die Simple Goodness Sisters Ihnen eine glücklichere Stunde. Simple Goodness Sisters stellt eine Reihe spezieller alkoholfreier Cocktailsirupe vor, mit denen Sie Ihre Mocktails und Cocktails von zu Hause aus aufwerten können. Seine Garden to Glass-Getränkesirupe verwenden die besten Zutaten, um die leckersten und einfachsten Getränke zu Hause herzustellen. Zu den Geschmacksrichtungen gehören Huckleberry Fichte, Rhabarber Vanilla Bean, Berry Sage, Lemon Herb, Marionberry Mint und Blueberry Lavender.

Machen Sie mit ihren Cocktail-Kits einen Lemon Drop einfach BYOB. Oder wie wäre es mit einem Urlaubsspritz? Verbessern Sie Ihr Cocktailspiel auch mit floralen Salzstreuern. Werden Sie mit diesen fabelhaften Sirupen ein botanischer Mixologe für zu Hause und beeindrucken Sie Ihre Familie und Freunde, indem Sie lustige köstliche Zubereitungen herstellen, die sie selbst ausprobieren möchten (Tipp: tolle Geschenkidee!) Werden Sie kreativ mit Ihrem Sirup: Nieselregen über Vanilleeis, Pfund Kuchen oder sogar DIY-Eis am Stiel!

Über Simple Goodness Sisters:

Die Simple Goodness Sisters sind zwei Schwestern, die die Unternehmenswelt verlassen haben, um ihren Traum vom Unternehmertum zu verwirklichen. Nachdem die Schwestern wiederholt nach ihren geheimen Cocktailrezepten gefragt hatten, beschlossen sie, ihre Talente in einer Reihe spezieller Cocktailsirupe abzufüllen. Die Sirupe enthalten Kräuter, die auf der Farm angebaut werden, und Geschmacksprofile, die eindeutig pazifischer Nordwesten sind. Sie verwenden ihre Farmwurzeln, um hyperlokale Zutaten von ihren Farmfreunden und Nachbarn zu beziehen. Während ihr Geschäft wächst, hoffen sie, andere dazu zu inspirieren, in ihren eigenen Gärten und Küchen Garten-Glas-Cocktails anzubauen und zu mixen. Folgen Sie ihnen auf Instagram @simplegoodnesssisters.

Die Schwestern sind jetzt eröffnet und freuen sich, The Simple Goodness Soda Shop anzukündigen.

Der Soda Shop wird das alkoholreichste Café sein, in dem Sie je waren, oder die familienfreundlichste Bar. Auf der Speisekarte stehen Eis, Eisbecher, Shakes, Panini-Sandwiches mit saisonalen Salaten, hausgemachte Gurken, hausgemachtes Pesto, Aufstriche und Marmeladen, herzhafte Snacks, Waffelstangen und natürlich #gardentoglass-Cocktails.


Ein „Bock“ enthält Schnaps, Ingwerbier und Zitrusfrüchte. Dieser beginnt mit einer gehackten, durcheinandergebrachten Erdbeere. Mit einer Unze Zitronensaft und einer halben Unze einfachen Sirups in einem Cocktailshaker schütteln. Fügen Sie zwei Unzen Bourbon, ein paar Spritzer Bitter und Eis hinzu. Nochmals schütteln und in ein mit Eis gefülltes Glas abseihen. Mit Ginger Beer auffüllen und mit einer Erdbeere garnieren.

Zwei Gurkenscheiben in einem Shaker zerdrücken. Drücken Sie ein paar Stücke Wassermelone, um etwa 1 ½ Unzen Saft zu machen. Den Saft in den Shaker abseihen. Fügen Sie 1 ½ Unzen Gin, ¾ Unzen Limettensaft, ½ Unze einfachen Sirup und eine Prise koscheres Salz hinzu. Mit Eis auffüllen und kräftig schütteln. In ein Glas mit Eis abseihen. Mit 1 ½ Unzen Sodawasser auffüllen und mit einer weiteren Gurkenscheibe garnieren.


Diese Karte zeigt, woher Ihre Lieblingsspeisen tatsächlich kommen

Man könnte meinen, dass thailändische Chilis aus Thailand stammen, aber Sie liegen falsch. Forscher der Royal Society haben die Ursprünge einiger der wichtigsten Nutzpflanzen der Welt kartiert, und viele ihrer Ergebnisse sind ziemlich überraschend. Tust du Ja wirklich weißt du woher dein Essen kommt?

Um das Bild unten besser sehen zu können, sehen Sie sich diese interaktive Karte des Internationalen Zentrums für tropische Landwirtschaft an. Bewegen Sie den Mauszeiger über das Land, für das Sie sich interessieren, und sehen Sie sich an, welche Pflanzen es beheimatet.

Am meisten überrascht war ich, als ich sah, dass Tomaten, Chilis und Kartoffeln, die ich so häufig mit Italien, Thailand bzw. Irland verbinde, ursprünglich aus Südamerika stammen. Ich war auch überrascht zu erfahren, dass Spargel, der in der Nähe meiner Heimat in Michigan wild wächst, und Rüben, die auf der anderen Seite des Staates angebaut und zu Zucker verarbeitet werden, nicht ursprünglich aus den USA stammen, sondern aus Eurasien .

Und zu denken, dass Weizen —, der heutzutage offensichtlich eine wichtige Zutat für so viele Dinge ist, nicht einmal in Nordamerika beheimatet ist, ist absolut wild. Können Sie sich vorstellen, wie das Essen in Ihrem Land ohne die Globalisierung aussehen würde? Versteh mich nicht falsch, ich mag Erdbeeren, Blaubeeren, Preiselbeeren, Himbeeren, Trauben, Sonnenblumen und Kürbisse, aber ich bin dankbar, Zugang zu so vielen wunderbaren Zutaten aus der ganzen Welt zu haben!


Bringen Sie Ihre Küche mit diesen vom Küchenchef kuratierten Tipps und Essensideen auf ein neues Niveau.

Erfahren Sie mehr


5. Kategorisieren Sie Ihre Rezepte

Nachdem Sie nun eine Methode zum Speichern Ihrer Rezepte ausgewählt haben, besteht der nächste Schritt darin, eine Struktur für die Organisation Ihrer Rezeptsammlung zu entwickeln. Erstellen Sie dazu eine Liste von Kategorien, mit denen Sie Ihre Rezepte organisieren können. Hier sind ein paar Ideen, wie Sie Ihre Rezepte kategorisieren können:

  • Art der Mahlzeit: Frühstück, Mittagessen, Abendessen, Dessert, Vorspeisen, Beilagen, Snacks, Getränke
  • Diät: Low Carb, Keto, Vegetarisch, Ganze 30, Paleo
  • Küche: Italienisch, Mexikanisch, Thai, Chinesisch, Griechisch
  • Hauptzutat: Hühnchen, Rindfleisch, Nudeln, Fisch
  • Kochmethode: InstantPot, Heißluftfritteuse, Slow Cooker, Aufläufe, Blechpfanne, Grill
  • Saison oder Feiertage: Thanksgiving, Sommergrill, Herbstsuppen, gemütliche Winterrezepte
  • Vorbereitungszeit oder Schwierigkeit: 30-Minuten-Mahlzeiten, 10 Zutaten oder weniger, Eintopf-Mahlzeiten

Kombinieren Sie diese Kategorien und wählen Sie diejenigen aus, die Ihren Anforderungen entsprechen. Was für jemand anderen funktioniert, funktioniert möglicherweise nicht für Sie. Sie können diese Kategorien jederzeit verfeinern!


Woher deine liebsten Urlaubsgewürze wirklich kommen

„Die Feiertage“ ist technisch gesehen kein Duft, aber wir alle wissen genau, was der Ausdruck „riecht wie die Feiertage“ bedeutet. Ein Hauch von fünf Schlüsselgewürzen – Piment, Anis, Zimt, Gewürznelke und Muskatnuss – ruft in den kältesten Monaten der nördlichen Hemisphäre ein wärmendes Gefühl der Behaglichkeit hervor.

Ein Hauptgrund dafür, dass diese Gewürze fast überall als Grundnahrungsmittel für den Urlaub akzeptiert werden, ist, dass viele von ihnen in den Speisen und Getränken vorkommen, die wir zu dieser Jahreszeit konsumieren (und in Kerzen, aber vor allem in Lebensmitteln). Die Gewürze sind der Schlüssel zu dem Glühwein und Eierlikör, den wir trinken, und den Kürbis- und Apfelkuchen, die wir von Thanksgiving bis zum neuen Jahr essen. Noch mehr als der Anblick eines gebratenen Truthahns oder das juckende Gefühl eines hässlichen Weihnachtspullovers weckt der Duft Erinnerungen an vergangene Feiertage. Studien haben gezeigt, dass Gerüche im selben Teil des Gehirns wie Emotionen und Gedächtnis verarbeitet werden, während dies nicht für Sehen, Geräusche und Berührungen gilt.

Die Menschen sind diesen Gewürzen begegnet, lange bevor sie eine Ahnung von (relativ) modernen Feiertagen wie Weihnachten hatten. Die Verwendung von Zimt im heutigen Indien und Sri Lanka reicht etwa 7.000 Jahre zurück, schreibt David Trinklein, der in der Abteilung für Pflanzenwissenschaften an der University of Missouri arbeitet. Ein lukrativer Handel mit Zimt und später anderen Gewürzen fand seit der Zeit der alten Ägypter zwischen Asien, Nordafrika und Europa über den Nahen Osten statt. Die Römer machten Alexandria, Ägypten, zum Zentrum des Handels mit Indien, und indische Gewürze trugen dazu bei, Alexandria zu einem wichtigen Handelszentrum für das Römische Reich zu machen.

Kaufleute in Venedig kontrollierten im 10. Jahrhundert den Gewürzhandel und schufen riesige Vermögen. Um 1500 wollten europäische Imperien den Zwischenhändler überspringen und in den Gewürzhandel einsteigen. Gewürze, vor allem diejenigen, die wir heute mit den Feiertagen verbinden, waren ein Hauptgrund für Expeditionen von Christoph Kolumbus, Vasco da Gama, Ferdinand Magellan und anderen.

Das Zeitalter der Erforschung wurde im 16., 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zum Zeitalter der Kolonisation. Die Niederlande kolonisierten die Gewürzinseln, die heute als Indonesien bekannt sind, durch die Niederländische Ostindien-Kompanie, das Vereinigte Königreich kolonisierte Teile des modernen Indiens mit der Britischen Ostindien-Kompanie und die Franzosen kolonisierten Teile Südostasiens und handelten über die Französische Ostindien-Kompanie .

Die Kolonien verwüsteten lokale Gemeinschaften, als die Europäer untereinander kämpften und Zwangsarbeit und Gewalt einsetzten, um den Bedarf an Gewürzen in ihren Heimatländern zu decken. In den nächsten zweihundert Jahren sanken die Preise und was wir heute als Weihnachtsgewürze bezeichnen, wurde für traditionelle westliche Rezepte entscheidend – einschließlich für formal langweilige Rezepte für Wintergerichte, die mit dem, was von der letzten Ernte des Jahres anhielt, hergestellt wurden.

Diese Gewürze werden in der modernen Weltwirtschaft genauso geschätzt, wenn auch nicht unbedingt lukrativ, und Länder, die einst europäische Gewürzkolonien waren, gehören heute zu den größten Gewürzexporteuren. Nach Angaben des Observatory of Economic Complexity gehören China, Indien, Thailand und Indonesien zu den Top-Exporteuren dieser Gewürze, obwohl ein Großteil der Exporte immer noch über ehemalige Kolonialmächte wie die Niederlande und Spanien abgewickelt wird (obwohl es darauf hingewiesen werden sollte) , dies ist nicht exklusiv für Urlaubsgewürze). Der größte Gewürzimporteur der Welt sind jetzt die Vereinigten Staaten, die 11 Prozent des Gewürzhandels im Wert von 2,4 Milliarden Dollar aufkaufen.

Während diese allgemeine Geschichte des Gewürzhandels das Gesamtbild dieser Sammlung von Weihnachtsgewürzen vermittelt, ist jedes der fünf wichtigsten Weihnachtsgewürze für sich etwas Besonderes.


Piña Colada

WO: Barrachina-Restaurant (San Juan, Puerto Rico)

Lange bevor Rupert Holmes über Piña Coladas und das Verfangen im Regen sang, wurden die Cocktails in ganz San Juan, Puerto Rico, gemixt. Das Frozen Drink besteht aus Rum, Kokoscreme und Ananassaft, garniert mit einer Ananasspalte oder einer Maraschino-Kirsche. Kein Wunder, dass es der offizielle Cocktail der Inseln ist.

Zwei Standorte beanspruchen das Getränk für sich. Das erste ist das Restaurant Barrachina, das außen mit einer Plakette als Heimat der Piña Colada gekennzeichnet ist. Der spanische Barkeeper Don Ramon Portas Mingot soll das Getränk dort 1963 kreiert haben. Aber 1954 sagte das Caribe Hilton Hotel, dass Barkeeper Ramón “Monchito” Marrero das Gebräu erfunden habe. Welche Version Sie auch immer glauben, wir empfehlen, an jedem Ort eine zu vergleichen, um sie zu vergleichen.

Empfohlenes Fodor&rsquos-Video


Barbecue Soße

Ohne Barbecuesauce keine leidenschaftlichen regionalen Grilldebatten. Schweine- oder Kuhstücke wären ohne die pikanten, immer anpassungsfähigen und breitgefächerten Barbecue-Saucen nur Fleisch aus dem Holzofen.

Laut der Anthropologin Zora Neale Hurston stammt das Barbecue von den Arawak-Indianern in Florida. Es wurde genannt Babacots, die die Spanier interpretierten als barbacoa und die Engländer als Barbecue. Hurston schreibt, dass Sklaven diejenigen waren, die langsam gegartem Fleisch eine säuerlich-scharfe Sauce hinzufügten, die sich von Bundesstaat zu Bundesstaat ausbreitete, sich an das regional verfügbare anpasste und die große Kategorie von Barbecue-Sauce schuf, die wir heute kennen.

Die Southern Foodways Alliance verbindet Barbecue-Sauce mit den Esstraditionen von Sklaven afrikanischer Abstammung und der Briten. Die Briten verwendeten Butter und/oder Essig, um ihr langsam gegartes Fleisch vor dem Austrocknen zu bewahren. Paprika und Gewürze stammten von Sklaven aus der Karibik. Heute ist Barbecue-Sauce eine regionale Zutat, die im Süden viele Debatten inspiriert hat. Sie erhalten etwas anderes, je nachdem, ob Sie Ihr Barbecue aus Alabama, North Carolina, Missouri, Texas oder Tennessee beziehen. Im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Gewürzen, die die USA verwenden und missbrauchen, ist Barbecue-Sauce wirklich eine amerikanische.